Skip to content

Historical Antecedents

On June 22, 1957, Congressman Ricardo Y. Ladrido authored and sponsored Republic Act 1925, converting the Barotac Nuevo High School (BNHS) into a national school of fisheries known as Central Iloilo National School of Fisheries (CINSOF), with Mr. Amedeo S. Timbol as its first principal. In 1961, the late Don Juan Paranpan donated a lot in Tiwi, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo, and broadened the school’s scope of curricular offerings to include collegiate courses. The passage of R.A. 321 converted the Iloilo National School of Fisheries into the Iloilo Regional School of Fisheries. In 1971, Bachelor of Science in Fishery Education (BSFED), with Dr.Elpidio M. Icamina as superintendent, was offered. In 1975, Bachelor of Science in Fisheries, with majors in Marine Fisheries, Inland Fisheries, and Fish Processing Technology, was offered.

In 1976, the school broadened its offerings with courses such as: Associate in Agriculture; Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, majors in Animal Husbandry and Agronomy; Bachelor of Science in Marine Transportation; and Bachelor of Science in Practical Arts. Another milestone in the history of the school was the offering of Master of Arts in Teaching Vocational Education, in consortium with the Iloilo School of Arts and Trades, Iloilo City. Because of P.D. 1523 signed June 11, 1978, the Iloilo Regional School of Fisheries was converted into the Iloilo State College of Fisheries on August 21, 1978, through the efforts of Dr.Narciso D. Monfort, the leadership of Dr.Elpidio M. Icamina as its first president, and the cooperation of the faculty and staff of the school and the good people of Barotac Nuevo. This marked the birth of the first and only state college of fisheries in the country.

Iloilo State College of Fisheries offered excellent training in the field of fisheries and advanced education both on campus and other satellite schools. The state college broadened its curricular offerings in Technology, Educational Management, and Public Administration; a postgraduate degree in Rural Development; Bachelor of Science in Marine Biology; Bachelor of Science in Fisheries; Bachelor of Science in Marine Transportation; Bachelor in Secondary Education; and Bachelor of Science in Ecological Tourism.

In 1979, the Marine Science Research Center was constructed in Lapuz-Lapuz, Dumangas, Iloilo. On March 3, 1983, the Old Sagay Barangay High School in Sagay, Negros Occidental, was converted into ISCOF—Sagay Branch. In 1984, the BSMT building was constructed in Alacaygan, Banate, Iloilo. On Dr.Icamina’s retirement, Mr. Benigno P. Panistante was installed as second ISCOF president on July 1, 1987.

In the 80’s, other programs were approved: Fisheries Management as one of the major fields of BS Fisheries (BSF); a ladderized curriculum of the Bachelor of Science in Marine Transportation (BSMT); and Certificate in Marine Transportation (CMT). The State College of Agriculture ASCA-ISCOF graduate education consortium program on Master of Arts in Educational Management (MAEM), major in Vocational Productivity, was also started.

In 1992, Dr.Elpidio A. Locsin, Jr. was elected as the third president. Major developments were implemented in the College.

In consonance with RA 8760 in 2002, the following CHED-Supervised Institutions (CSIs) were integrated with ISCOF as its Branch Schools: Dumangas Polytechnic College (DPC), Dumangas, Iloilo; Barotac Nuevo Polytechnic Institute (BNPI), Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo; San Enrique Polytechnic College (SEPC), San Enrique, Iloilo; and Dingle Agricultural and Technical College (DATEC), Dingle, Iloilo. Dr. Wenceslao O. Sison, PASUC President, was designated OIC President in view of the vacancy left by Dr. Locsin.

In 2007, the fifth president, Dr. Ramon C. Cabag, was sworn into office. Due to his secondment, he returned to his original school, the West Visayas State University, after two years. The Regional Director of the Commission on Higher Education, Dr. Isabela H. Mahler, acted as the OICPresident for a year as a result of the vacancy left by Dr. Cabag.

On March 16, 2008, the Board of Trustees installed into office the sixth president, Dr. Ma. Rosario Allones Panes. Dr. Panesstarted working for the university-hood of the College, with the strong support of the Honorable Congressman Ferjenel G. Biron who sponsored the bill.

On March 17, 2013, Dr. Panes finished her term as SUC President II prompting the Board of Trustees to search for the next president. While the search was ongoing, Dr. Panes assumed as OIC President.

On June 11, 2013 His Excellency Benigno Simeon Aquino III signed into law Republic Act No. 10604, an act converting ISCOF into the Iloilo State University of Science and Technology, the 10th university in the Province of Iloilo.

Through Board of Trustees Resolution No. 34 series of 2013, Dr. Ramon G. Zarceno was appointed as the seventh ISCOF President on April 15, 2013 and assumed office on June 13, 2013.

Engineer GodelynGallega-Hisole, DMformally assumed office as the 8th SUC President II of the Iloilo State College of Fisheries on July 11, 2017, by virtue of the official appointment by the ISCOF Board of Trustees led by Commissioner J. Prospero E. De Vera III of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED). 

Congressman Ferjenel G. Biron of the 4th District of Iloilo sponsored the House Bill that finally led to the enactment and signing into law of Republic Act No. 11012that converted the status of ISCOF to that of a university named Iloilo State University of Fisheries, Science, and Technology (ISUFST), pending CHED compliance.

Nordy D. Siason, Jr., EdD, CESO VI, assumed office as the 9th President on February 4, 2022, by virtue of the official appointment by the ISCOF Board of Trustees led by Chairman J. Prospero E. De Vera III of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED).

Dr.Siason has been leading ISCOF’s efforts in complying with CHED requirements for full university status. To date, 100% of the 37 undergraduate and graduate programs of ISCOF across its five campuses have been awarded by CHED with Certificate of Program Compliance.

caring logo 2

Contact Information

Brgy. Tiwi, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo

Social Media

caring logo 2

Contact Information

09176246100 | (033) 5115663
Barangay Tiwi, Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo

© ISCOF Website 2022
Powered by WordPressThemify WordPress Themes